Frustrating side of AWS

I achieved 4 AWS certifications in 4 months... I didn't use any cert dumps, I used both Linux Academy and A Cloud Guru and I didn't just pass the exams, I learned the concepts and services. I even train AWS on the side. However, its almost impossible to get on with AWS or companies using AWS unless you are already doing the job. 

I have talked to several recruiters and they say, "We are looking for people with in-house experience." That's pretty impossible unless you are already doing the job... but you can't get the job without that in-house experience. Even when companies are looking for trainers, they don't care so much about AWS knowledge, they are more concerned with your training history and experience with E-Learning platforms. 

I know its not going to all fall into your lap over night; but I have been doing this for 9 months... I have 4 certs (I'm nearly ready to add the Solutions Architect Pro as well to my list); but I honestly don't feel like I'm any closer to a career at AWS or with another company using AWS than when I started. In fact I don't think if I had all 9 certs, I could get in. They would still want the in house experience... and jobs on the training side would want experience with E-learning software. At this point, it kind of feels like a dead end. 

• post-author-pic
    Chad C
    12-07-2018

Hey Errol, I can certainly understand where you're coming from.  That does sound frustrating.  

All I can say is keep trying.  There are companies out there that are searching for people like you.  We hear success stories all the time that include people getting the job after getting one certification, even with little to no experience.

I know it may seem daunting, but don't give up! Just know that there are employers that are looking for you, you just haven't found them yet.

There is also the option of taking a lower level position and working your way up the ladder or moving laterally.  

I hope this helps!